The Master study programme is divided into four semesters of 30 ECTS each.

The EMIMEO Consortium releases multiple degrees and recognises any teaching module attended in other institutions of the Consortium. Students will receive the diploma from each institution in which they will have spent at least 1 semester of study.

UNILIM Master Physique appliquée et Ingénierie physique/Master in Applied Physics and Physical Engineering
UNIBS Master in Communication Technologies and Multimedia
ASTON Master in Telecommunication Systems
UPV/EHU Master in Ingeniería física (EMIMEO Masters Degree)


Taught course units

Semester 1: Courses at UNILIM (30 ECTS)

  • Basics of active and nonlinear electronics (9 ECTS)
  • Foundations of electromagnetic wave propagation (9 ECTS)
  • Fundamentals of coherent photonics (9 ECTS)
  • Optoelectronics, provided by academic teaching staff from UTCN (3ECTS)

Semester 2: Courses at UNIBS (30 ECTS)

  • Microwave Engineering (6 ECTS)
  • Nanophotonics (3 ECTS)
  • Optical Communication networks (3 ECTS)
  • Antennas (6 ECTS)
  • Wireless system laboratory (3 ECTS)
  • Practical chemistry for nanotechnology (3ECTS)
  • Optical communication components (6 ECTS)

Students will temporary move at beginning of S2 to CLUJ for the Research and Industrial week organized by UCTN.

Semester 3 Students at the second year (M2) will move to one of the four partner institutions intensifying their study around one of the four special characters in EMIMEO for the third semester

All courses are taught in English.

S3: Courses at UNILIM (30 ECTS) – Active Management of Power Waves (AMPW)

  • Antennas and EM compatibility for RF systems – 6 ECTS
  • Passive components and devices for RF systems – 6 ECTS
  • Nonlinear components and devices for RF systems – 6 ECTS
  • Printed electronics for telecommunication and energy harvesting – 3 ECTS
  • Telecommunication systems and networks – 1.5 ECTS
  • Advanced photonic sources and systems – 7.5 ECTS

Examination period in December/January

Resit in January and June.

S3: Courses at UNIBS (30 ECTS) – Remote Sensing (RS)

  • Nanotechnology, nanomaterials, quantum information (6 ECTS)
  • Remote sensing (9 ECTS)
  • Electronics for telecommunications (9 ECTS)
  • Tutored projects on nonlinear fibre optics, antennas and nanotechnologies (6ECTS)

Examination period in January-February
Resit in April, June and September.

3. S3: Courses at ASTON (30 ECTS) – Communication Systems and Networking(CSN)

  • Telecommunications Networks and Quality of Service (3.75 ECTS)
  • Radio Systems and Personal Communications Networks (3.75 ECTS)
  • Mobile Data Networks (3 ECTS)
  • Information Theory, Coding and Traffic Theory (3 ECTS)
  • Digital Transmission (3 ECTS)
  • Optical Communications (3 ECTS)
  • Software Engineering (3 ECTS)
  • Project Management (3.75 ECTS)
  • Strategic Management and Finance (3.75 ECTS)

Examination period in December (first term) and April (second term)

Resit in August for both terms (one session).

4. S3: Courses at UPV/EHU (30 ECTS) – Instrumentation and Control Systems (ICS)

  • Experimental Techniques for RF and microwaves (3 ECTS)
  • Electronic noise and electromagnetic compatibility (3 ECTS)
  • Instrumentation and control for RF and microwave facilities (3 ECTS)
  • High-power components and systems for RF and microwave facilities (3 ECTS)
  • Software tools for system analysis and design (3 ECTS)
  • Hardware-software advanced digital electronic systems (3 ECTS)
  • Control techniques for complex and distributed systems (3 ECTS)
  • Data analysis: pattern recognition (3 ECTS)
  • Data analysis: statistics (3 ECTS)
  • Introduction to research methodology (3 ECTS)

Examination period in January-February
Resit in July.